Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Playing XI VIVO IPL 2018 - Players list, Team Squad, Opening Batsmen, Middle Order, Bowling lineup, Team News

Want to know playing line-up of Chennai Super Kings for IPL 11? Then get the playing XI of CSK team in VIVO Indian Premier League 2018 in this post. As you already know that Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the best amongst all Indian Premier League seasons, though it was out a couple of seasons now they are back to play their "Whistle Podu" in IPL 2018. It's the Chennai franchise presently owned by India Cements. The Chennai team features a strong batting & bowling line-up which led Super Kings towards the victory twice (in 2010 and 2011) under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, the elite Former Indian Captain, and batsman-wicket keeper. However, the team was not the part of the last season of IPL. This time they are coming back which lots of better changes in their team squad and most importantly duo of Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni will be playing together for their team. We are very excited to watch Chennai Super Kings 2018 squad astonishing performance in the IPL 11 Season.
Owner - India Cements
Coach - Stephen Fleming
Venue - M. A. Chidambaram Stadium
Captain - Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MS Dhoni)
Champions - IPL 2011, IPL 2010
Official Twitter Page - https://twitter.com/ChennaiIPL
Official Instagram Account - https://www.instagram.com/chennaiipl/
  • Also Check: VIVO IPL 2018 Teams
From April 7, 2018 Chennai Super Kings will begin their VIVO IPL 2018 tournament playing against Mumbai Indians at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. They will play total of 14 Matches in the tournament. As derived from the previous rules, Each team will fight against the same team twice in the league matches. Out of those total of 7 Matches will be held in their home ground M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings IPL 2018 Team News :

The 2018 IPL Chennai Super Kings team comprises of 8 eminent international players and 18 Indian players.

Don't miss: IPL 2018 Official Broadcasters, TV Channels, Telecasting details - VIVO IPL 2018 live streaming Info!
  • The batting line-up comprises of Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, M Vijay, MS Dhoni, Dhruv Shorey, Kedar Jadhav
  • All Rounders Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, M Santner, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Ravindra Jadeja
  • Ambati Rayudu, Billings and N Jagadeesan are the three wicketkeepers from Chennai Super Kings 2018 team squad.
  • Among the bowlers, the Chennai Super Kings have taken Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Kanishk Seth, Ngidi, Mark Wood, Kshitiz Sharma, Monu Kumar
  • The present captain of Chennai Super Kings Squad is MS Dhoni while Suresh Raina is entitled as the Vice Captain. Stephen Fleming is the coach of Chennai Super Kings 2018 squad.
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni was their costliest purchase - they secured him for a whopping Rs 15 crore.
Chennai Super Kings has got very strong batting lineup as the team has retained and purchased some of the best batsmen and all-rounders including MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu and M Vijay. Also, Super Kings are equipped with a quality bowling line-up which includes bowlers like Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, and Ngidi.

Following is the Chennai Super Kings IPL 2018 Team Squad list:

Play now: IPL-11 2018 Fantasy League Game - Win Prizes Free Join Now


MS Dhoni (Captain) (Wk) Faf du Plessis
Ravindra Jadeja Dwayne Bravo
Suresh Raina                    Shane Watson
Harbhajan Singh Imran Tahir
Kedar Jadhav                   Mitchell Santner (Unavailable due to injury)
Ambati Rayudu Lungisani Ngidi
Karan Sharma                  Sam Billings
Shardul Thakur Mark Wood
Jagadeesan Narayan
Deepak Chahar
Asif KM
Kanish Seth
Dhruv Shorey
Murali Vijay
Kshitiz Sharma
Monu Singh
Chaitanya Bishnoi

Opening Batsmen:

As Chennai Super Kings team 2018 has its fair share of formidable middle-order batsmen in the Chennai Super Kings team list, the franchise seems to have compromised a little on the quality openers. The franchise’s best bet will be to send in India Test opening batsman Murali Vijay and former Australia dasher Shane Watson to open CSK’s innings for the upcoming IPL season 11.

Middle Order:

The ‘yellow brigade’ had executed their player retention plans brilliantly, something which Chennai Super Kings team 2018 has always been known for. CSK retained former India skipper and current wicketkeeper-batsman MS Dhoni, limited-overs explosive batsman Suresh Raina, and South Africa captain across all formats Faf du Plessis in the Chennai Super Kings team list. The tail-end of the Chennai Super Kings lineup will see all-rounders – Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, and Karn Sharma help the team at the crease in the times of adversity.

Bowling Lineup:

CSK have their pace section covered with Dwayne Bravo and Shardul Thakur’s excellent right-arm medium fast bowling. On the other hand, the spin-bowling section will be taken care of by the veteran Indian off-spin specialist Harbhajan Singh. To accompany the off-spinning veteran, CSK has potent leg-spinners in Ravindra Jadeja and Karn Sharma, with Kedar Jadhav as the ideal back-up spinner.

CSK Captain for IPL 2018 – MS Dhoni

After having retained MS Dhoni during the player retention process earlier in January, CSK had never intended to keep it a secret that the captain for the franchise for the upcoming IPL season 11 will be none other than the former Indian captain, MS Dhoni, who has always been a favorite leader for the ‘yellow brigade’.

Dhoni has been the MVP for Chennai Super Kings in all the previous IPL campaigns, and in the IPL 2018 edition, the Jharkhand wicketkeeper-batsman will re-assume the role of team captain.

Chennai Super Kings Playing 11 for IPL 2018 (Expected CSK Playing XI IPL 11):

Check: VIVO IPL 2018 Today's Game/Match Prediction, Win Percent - Who will win the IPL 11 today's game?
  • Faf Du Plessis
  • Shane Watson
  • Suresh Raina
  • MS Dhoni (C) (Wk)
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Karn Sharma
  • Mark Wood
  • Shardul Thakur

Post a Comment